Curriculum

Infant curriculum

Based in Victor House, a cottage just a short walk from the main school, our Infants live in a rural idyll. At this early stage of education, we want to fire our children's imagination and give them opportunities to explore the world around them as they become increasingly confident and independent learners.

Our Infants are surrounded by nature - Guernsey cows peacefully overlook the playground, children roll up their sleeves to play in the mud-kitchen, or put on wellies to work in the forest area where they may be listening to stories, foraging for leaves and natural materials or even searching for imaginative beasts (such as the Gruffalo). Our Infants have investigated a crashed spaceship and even been visited by fairies. You never know what you are going to find.

Our small classes allow us to meet the needs of individual children and offer them an opportunity to develop an enquiring mind and love of learning.

Literacy and mathematics are core subjects, taught daily alongside other subjects as part of a topic-based curriculum.  

We have a strong phonics and reading programme to enable children to develop a love of words and a wide vocabulary that supports both their speaking and writing. Children have an opportunity to showcase their learning with assemblies, drama and musical performances. These are tremendous for the confidence of the children and enjoyed by parents and grandparents alike.

Our Infant pupils enjoy a good balance of indoor and outdoor learning as well as specialist sport and music lessons.

Parents can make use of the Infant’s Early Bird club and drop their children off from 8.15 am. School officially begins at 9.00 am and ends at 3.15 pm. An after-school club, including a range of fun activities, runs until 5.30 pm. Pupils can bring their own lunch into school or have a school lunch; pupils eat together in the Rosaire Hall and are fully supervised to ensure they are eating healthily.

You can download our assessment and reporting information leaflet, here.

For more information, please contact Mrs Angie Tolcher, Vice-Principal (Primary).

Email tolchera@blanchelande.sch.gg

Angie Tolcher

Vice-Principal (Primary)

tolchera@blanchelande.sch.gg

Deb Carter

School Secretary and Breakfast Club Co-ordinator

carterd@blanchelande.sch.gg

Linda Parish

Teacher of Reception

parishl@blanchelande.sch.gg

Alexa Yeoman

Head of Infants and Year 1 Teacher

yeomana@blanchelande.sch.gg

Debbie Help

Infant Teaching Assistant

helpd@blanchelande.sch.gg

Sharon Carvill

Infant Teacher and Teacher of Learning Support

carvills@blanchelande.sch.gg

Nicola Smith

Teacher of Year 2

smithn@blanchelande.sch.gg

Kelly Fay

Head of Learning Support (SENCO) & Teacher of Drama

fayk@blanchelande.sch.gg