Curriculum

Junior curriculum

What pupils learn from ages 7-11 is the foundation of their senior school years. For the years when their memory is at its optimum, Blanchelande offers a liberal arts curriculum that privileges the acquisition of core knowledge and subject-mastery.

Blanchelande’s Junior School offers an excellent all-round education. Pupils study English, Maths, Science, RE, French, Latin, Geography, History, Art, Design Technology, Music, Cookery, PSHE, PE and Games. Lessons are taught by a mixture of class and specialist teachers, and with about twenty pupils in each class, pupils can participate in lively discussions while receiving individual support. The curriculum strives to both stretch the academically gifted and support those with particular learning needs. Our PE staff and external coaches ensure that our pupils enjoy plenty of physical activity and sport, from touch rugby to netball and swimming. Our goal is to craft a curriculum that brings out the potential of each individual child.

You can download our assessment and reporting information leaflet, here.

For more information about our Junior School, contact Mrs Tolcher (Vice Principal – Primary)

Email tolchera@blanchelande.sch.gg

Tricia Lewis

Teacher of Year 3

lewist@blanchelande.sch.gg

Rebecca Reid

Teacher of Year 4 & Geography

reidr@blanchelande.sch.gg

Maggie Sanders

Teacher of Year 5 and Classics

sandersm@blanchelande.sch.gg

Angie Tolcher

Vice-Principal (Primary)

tolchera@blanchelande.sch.gg

Katie Beavan

Teacher of Year 6

beavank@blanchelande.sch.gg

Mel Bisson

Teacher of Primary Religious Education

bissonm@blanchelande.sch.gg

Nikki Rihoy

Junior Teaching Assistant

rihoyn@blanchelande.sch.gg

Kelly Fay

Head of Learning Support (SENCO) & Teacher of Drama

fayk@blanchelande.sch.gg

Steve Hutchison

Head of Activities & Teacher of Games

hutchisons@blanchelande.sch.gg

Rachel Van der Linden

Teacher of Design Technology

vanderlindenr@blanchelande.sch.gg

Lucille Pearson

Teacher of Food and Nutrition

pearsonl@blanchelande.sch.gg

Magali Brouard

Teacher of Business Studies, French & Classics

brouardm@blanchelande.sch.gg

Gareth Rees

Teacher of History

reesg@blanchelande.sch.gg